Is there a scam regarding internet based employment agencies?
There's a scam for just about EVERYTHING on the internet these days. Internet crime is rising like crazy and the reason is its way too easy to get away with it and fool people when your not dealing with them face to face. If they're asking for you to fill out any type of "job application" that requires information such as your drivers license number, your social security number, or your birth date I would definitely stay away. You never know who could be behind the website. Anyone can make up a fake company have a website up a few hours later. It could very possibly be a scam to steal your identity if that is the case. Stay away and I only reccomend dealing with a company that is local to you or else do a background check on them... Make sure they have a working 1-800 number with live reps answering the phones, check www.whois.com to see who their website is registered to, check www.hoovers.com to make sure they are a registered businesses, and maybe google the name of the company to see if you can find any reviews on them. I'm sure if they've scammed anyone in the past someone somewhere has made that information public on the internet on a blog or a forum that you're bound to come across. Also always check with www.ripoffreport.com to see if there are any existing complaints or concerns against the company already.
Hope this helps and be very careful! |